The Regional Training Facility (RTF) was established by 12 member states of the International Conference of the Great Lakes Region of Africa. It was set up as an implementation arm of the ICGLR to operationalize Article 6(9) of the ICGLR Protocol on the Prevention and Suppression of Sexual Violence against Women and Children (2006). It is a special regional facility for training and sensitizing judicial officers, police units, social workers, medical officers and other categories of persons who handle cases of sexual violence in the Great Lakes Region. The RTF which was launched on 18th February 2014, is based in Kampala, Uganda. It a decentralized organ of the ICGLR Secretariat based in Bujumbura, Burundi

ICGLR Member States

They are: Angola, Burundi, Central Africa Republic (CAR), Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Republic of Congo (Congo Brazzaville), South Sudan, Sudan, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.


Key functions

Organise regional training courses for senior and higher level stakeholders including the Training of Trainers.